Thursday, January 11, 2007

Ruthann Friedman - Lost Recordings (1965-1971)

Beautiful lost recordings from California folksinger Ruthann Friedman -- probably best known as the author of The Association's hit "Windy", but a heck of a great artist on her own! The tracks here are all pulled from Ruthann's private tapes, and document not only her fantastic (yet under-discovered) talent -- but also the fading glimmer of personally crafted folk music as the California scene of the 60s folded into the mainstream of the 70s. Many numbers often have a bit of a jazzy flourish -- if not in the guitar, then in the vocal inflections -- a style that's reminiscent of Joni Mitchell at her early best, but much more personal and intimate here. Titles include Friedman's own take on "Windy", plus "Sky Is Moving South", "Looking Glass", "Silver Bird", "Between The Lines", "Typical Sunday", "Hurried Life", and "That's All Right". -Dustygrooves-

Thank you Ruthann Friedman for your comments!


1. Hurried Life
2. That's All Right
3. To Treat a Friend
4. Sky Is Moving South
5. Looking Glass
6. Silver Bird
7. Between the Lines
8. I'm Askin'
9. Windy
10. Typical Sunday
11. Southern Comfortable
12. Alone at Last
13. Boy Took a Ticket
14. Method Madness
15. Little Girl Lost & Found

No comments:

Post a Comment